Best advice for the writing process

Procrastination, editing and re-editing, shelving, and running away from whatever it is you’re trying to write are all-too familiar ways of avoiding one basic fact:

‘Stop treating it like it’s a delicate art. Sit. Write. Do the fucking work. End of story.’ (#Johnny B. Truant)

14 tips for writing a book in 29 days

I like people who speak bluntly and tell it like it is. War and Peace didn’t get written in one day but pontification certainly wasn’t the means by which it came to completion.

Now excuse me while I get back to that chapter I’ve reworked a thousand times…before I notice that my flat needs cleaning, there’s an e-mail I HAVE to write, there’s a dirty window I need to simply stare through…

Goethe

‘Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, begin it. Action has magic, grace, and power in it.’ (#Goethe)

Leave a comment